School Logo

West Drayton


Interactive bar


Governing Body

Our Academy Council 2020-21

Name Status Elected / Appointed End of Term
Richard Yates Staff / Principal    
Adrian Ingham Chair 01/10/2019 Oct-22
Emily Allen-Mersh Co-opted 08/09/2020 Sep-23
Joanne Callanan Staff - Teaching 06/03/2018 Mar-21
Rebecca Earley Staff - Teaching 05/03/2019 Mar-22
William Parsons Parent Governor 04/12/2017 Dec-20
Janet Shearer Parent Governor 08/10/2019 Oct-22
Michelle Thomas Parent Governor 08/10/2020 Oct-23
Donna Nash Clerk 10/07/2018  

The governors at West Drayton Academy are a team of hard working people from a variety of backgrounds who volunteer their time to the school.  Our aim is to improve children’s lives ensuring they receive the best possible education. 

The governing body at West Drayton Academy has a strategic role which focuses on three elements:


  • Setting the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the academy
  • Holding the school leaders to account for performance of pupils and the performance management of staff
  • Ensuring finances are well spent


In order to determine clear and ambitious strategic priorities and monitor school performance governors must have a strong understanding of core functions and also:


  • Agree the outcomes from the school’s evaluation and ensure they are used to inform the priorities in the academy development plan
  • Consider all relevant data and feedback provided on request by school leaders and external sources on all aspect of academy performance
  • Ask challenging questions of school leaders


At West Drayton Academy the expectations and standards for governors is high, in both terms of conduct and commitment and mirrors key values held across the school.

Governors' Meeting Attendance 2019-20:

Governor Status Focus Area Attendance
Adrian Ingham Chair of Governors All 100%
Emily Allen-Mersh Co-Opted Curriculum 50%
Janet Shearer

Parent Governor

Safeguarding & Behaviour 65%
William Parsons Parent Governor SEND & Pupil Premium 65%
Sarika Sharma Parent Governor   100%
Richard Yates Principal All 100%
Joanne Callanan Staff - Teacher Sports Premium 65%
Rebecca Earley Staff - Teacher Workload & Wellbeing 85%
Donna Nash Clerk to Governors 100%





There are 6 Trust Members:


5 appointed by the Members and the Board

The Independant Chair from the Board of Directors.

The term of office is 4 years.  Members meet at least annually.


Trust Members


Term of Office

Linda Day 01/09/2019 - 31/08/2023
Liz Herod 01/09/2019 - 31/08/2023
Obaid Siddiqui 01/09/2019 - 31/08/2023
Kuldeep Lakhmana 01/09/2019 - 31/08/2023
Margaret Innes 01/09/2020 - 31/08/2024
Muralee Nair (Independant Chair) 01/09/2018 - 31/08/2022


Interests:  No Pecuniary Interests have been declared

Muralee Nair is married to an employee of the Park Federation Academy Trust


The clerk to the Board is Mrs Viv Gibbons



Board Directors / Trustees 2020/21

  Muralee Nair Chair of the Board
  Anoop Ghai Director with Oversight of Finance
  Dr Adel Rouz Director with Oversight of Operations
  Dr Martin Young Chief Executive Officer
  Shuhab Hamid Chair of Montem Academy
  Tarsem Chana Chair of Lake Farm Park Academy
  Adrian Ingham

Chair of West Drayton Academy

  Simon Carter Chair of Western House Academy
  Afsheen Chowdry Chair of Wood End Park Academy